Staff Spotlight: Jacqui Scuncio

Jacqui Scuncio

Meet Jacqui Scuncio

Position at HOJ:
Office Manager and Director of A Visit from St. Nicholas

What could you not live without?

I could not live without my car. I hate to sit at home, plus with 2 teens running different ways I am always off and going somewhere.

What is the scariest thing you’ve ever done?

I would say Zip lining is the scariest thing i have ever done. If it weren’t for the girls I would have chickened out for sure but the dudes were cute and it was an easy decision to let them catch me.

Where is the most exciting place you’ve ever been?

I went on a cruise to Mexico 17 years ago and I am going on another to the Bahamas with my mom and 2 daughters.  What a great time!

What is your philosophy on life?

YOLO! You only live once. Life’s journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to slide in sideways, totally worn out, shouting “What a ride!”

Jacqui cheering on her two favorite cheerleaders

I also believe that you must give back. YOU MUST BE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE IN THIS WORLD and you must teach the younger generation by example not by words alone.

What song would be included on the soundtrack to your life?

I would hope “You Raise Me Up” – Josh Groban. I want people to be encouraged by me. I want to be a role model to my children and those they associate with.

What did you want to be growing up?

I wanted to be an accountant. Numbers are my strong point. In high school, I actually won the FACS accounting competition and represented Florida at a national competition.

 What inspires you to work at HOJ?

8 years ago I volunteered on a project called A Visit From St. Nicholas and a 5th grader told me “THANK YOU, I have never owned a new book.” All I could picture is my children’s over flowing book shelves, it was very emotional for me to know so many children don’t own a book. We take so much for granted. Less than 2 year later I was offered a job at HOJ managing the St. Nicholas projects. Here I am 6 years later!

Is there anything else you’d like to share about yourself?

I am a wife of 20+ years, I have 2 amazing daughters. Shelby who is 16 and Kayla who is 15. Both are honor role students at Sandalwood High School GO SAINTS!!! Kayla is a varsity cheerleader and Shelby just made the JV Cheer squad. They amaze me every single day. I have been team mom, cheer mom, cheer coach and their biggest cheerleaders.

Besides being on the sidelines every Thursday and Friday in the fall and court side during the winter, you will find me in my scrap-booking room, or curled up with a good book and a movie.

About It's All GOOD!

We inspire, equip and mobilize people to take action that changes the world. As the on-ramp to volunteering in our community, we work with more than 125 local nonprofit organizations to provide opportunities for people to connect to make a difference.
This entry was posted in HOJ Staff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

