Staff Spotlight: Jenny O’Donnell

Jenny O’Donnell

Meet Jenny O’Donnell

Position at HOJ: Community Engagement Director

What could you not live without?

My passport! I feel so lucky that as an American I can visit and learn from so many wonderful cultures.

What is the scariest thing you’ve ever done?

Jenny and her twin sister Maria doing yoga poses in Guatemala. Can you tell which one is Jenny?

I think the scariest thing I have ever done is bridge jumping in Guatemala. I have a fear of heights and the reality of what it takes to overcome fears is very challenging! I am glad I did it but I don’t think I have to do it again!

Where is the most exciting place you’ve ever been?

I have loved all my trips to foreign countries however the most EXCITING place I have ever been is Brazil. Brazil is a vibrant and constantly stimulating country; whether it’s the people, colors, music or food. It seems people never sleep and always laugh. I loved it!

Who is your hero, and why?

I believe that anyone brave enough to speak their mind and make a difference is a silent hero. Historically, Gandhi would be my hero because his ability to change the destiny of a country and it’s people through non-violence is monumental.

What is your philosophy on life?

Jenny doing art with Balinese children from 2005 when she ran the VIBE Foundation

Play more. When I leave this lovely green earth I want to leave behind good memories, stories of adventures, silly laughter and no regrets. People take themselves (and their possessions) way too seriously!

What is your all time favorite joke?

What did the number zero say to the number eight? Nice belt! Chuckle chuckle snort.

What song would be included on the soundtrack to your life?

Hum, not sure. Something with a good, exotic drum rhythm!

What did you want to be growing up?

I really wanted to be a veterinarian because I always loved animals. Then I wanted to be a princess, next a brain surgeon, then I wanted to run an ice cream stand in Costa Rica (still appealing), a paleontologist, and then an anthropologist and somehow I ended up doing what I do now – which I love.

What inspires you to work at HOJ?

Working at HOJ resonates with one of my core beliefs, which is that it is all of our responsibility to serve others as long as we are able and as long as we live in a society where there is need. Also, it’s just a really fun place to work and the people are fabulous.

About It's All GOOD!

We inspire, equip and mobilize people to take action that changes the world. As the on-ramp to volunteering in our community, we work with more than 125 local nonprofit organizations to provide opportunities for people to connect to make a difference.
This entry was posted in HOJ Staff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staff Spotlight: Jenny O’Donnell

  1. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

  2. This is exactly the 3rd article, of your blog I really went through.
    But yet I actually like this 1, “Staff Spotlight: Jenny ODonnell | It’s All GOOD!” the best. Thank you ,Francisco

Leave a Reply

