Staff Spotlight: Meet Ashley Szczukowski

Ashley_blogPosition at HandsOn Jacksonville: Corporate Partnerships Director

What could you not live without?

This seems like such an easy question to answer until I got to thinking… the usual answers came to mind first,my faith, family and friends. And I am blessed to have an unshakable faith, a large family who loves to have fun and amazing friends who support my efforts. But there is more, I could not live without knowledge, imagination and my freedom. Having the freedom to dream and grow in this life makes it all worth living.

What is the scariest thing you’ve ever done?

I think the scariest thing I’ve ever done was scuba dive for the first time. I was excited and overly confident! Once I got in the water and got masked and geared up I realized I was petrified of being in the enormous ocean with no land in sight. It took a little while for me to calm down but eventually I eased up enough to enjoy the creation that was right in front of my eyes, a whole new land, underwater.

Ashley_missionWhere is the most exciting place you’ve ever been?

The most exciting place I have visited is Costa Rica. I am fortunate to have traveled some in my life, but this trip was different. It was exciting because I was there to serve others. My daughter and I took our first missions trip together to South America. The feeling on the way there was that we would be helping the less fortunate and yet the feelings on the way home were that we gained so much more than we gave.

What is your philosophy on life?

I believe that each and every day is a gift, not given because of what I have done in the past but given for a purpose to further the lives of those I will encounter in the future. My personal mission is to experience an extraordinary life by serving others in ordinary ways, that is my plan.

What is your all time favorite joke?

Johnny’s mother had triplets the first was named April, the second was May, what was the third?

Johnny – duh!

What song would be included on the soundtrack to your life?

One of the songs that would be noted on the soundtrack of my life is “The Lord is my light and salvation, whom shall I fear, whom shall I be afraid…” Another song that would be listed is Bruno Mars’ “Treasure, that is what you are…”

What inspires you to work at HOJ?

I am inspired to work at HandsOn Jacksonville because of the mission, vision and values, I love what HOJ stands for. Volunteering is in my nature but this organization fulfilled their mission by “inspiring, equipping and mobilizing” me to do what I love the most, giving back to others. I love that I am not tied to one specific cause or organization, I get to be a part of any or all of the causes that I hold near and dear to my heart.

editor’s note:  Ashley has been a long-time volunteer project leader for HandsOn Jacksonville.  We are delighted to now have her on staff full time!

Ashley

Is there anything else you’d like to share about yourself?

I’d like to mention my remarkable daughter who keeps me young at heart and reminds me what grace and mercy means. She is my true shining star

About It's All GOOD!

We inspire, equip and mobilize people to take action that changes the world. As the on-ramp to volunteering in our community, we work with more than 125 local nonprofit organizations to provide opportunities for people to connect to make a difference.
This entry was posted in HOJ Staff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

