Staff Spotlight: Meet Bonnie Barnes

Barnes_BonniePosition:  Business Development & Corporate Activation Director

What could you not live without?

Dark chocolate

Where is the most exciting place you have ever been?

I’ve been to many countries and seen many things, but as a child, the most impressive thing was our national parks.  I looked over the ledge into the Grand Canyon, watched Yellowstone’s geysers blow and bent over to miss Carlsbad Cavern’s stalagmites, all before ten years of age.

What is the scariest thing you’ve ever done?

baylie&amp%3bmomDive in Blue Springs, 130 ft. down a shaft; parasailing in Puerto Vallarta; helping daughter film a hurricane on the beach (but having a daughter is probably the scariest.)

Who is your hero and why?

Dr. Frances B. Kinne.  She has accomplished so much and given to so many.  She recently spoke to the Women of Influence at the age of 99 and eloquently shared so much with each of us.  She is a mentor, hero and leader.

What song would be included on the soundtrack of your life?

“I Believe”

I believe for every drop of rain that falls
A flower grows,
I believe that somewhere in the darkest night
A candle glows.
I believe for everyone who goes astray
Someone will come to show the way.
I believe,
Oh, I believe.
I believe above the storm
The smallest prayer, will still be heard.
I believe that someone in that great somewhere
Hears every word
Every time I hear a newborn baby cry,
Or touch a leaf
Or see the sky,
Then I know why I believe.
Every time I hear a newborn baby cry,
Or touch a leaf
Or see the sky,
Then I know why I believe

What did you want to be growing up?

I didn’t have much guidance and really didn’t think much about it. As a survivor, I opened my first business at 17, having worked since I was ten years of age.

What inspires you to work at HOJ?

Volunteerism is the best medicine. For every complaint you might have, always remember, you are better off than some and less fortunate than others. By paying it forward, you are rewarded with gifts far greater than money.

Is there anything else you’d like to share about yourself?

I love life.

About It's All GOOD!

We inspire, equip and mobilize people to take action that changes the world. As the on-ramp to volunteering in our community, we work with more than 125 local nonprofit organizations to provide opportunities for people to connect to make a difference.
This entry was posted in HOJ Staff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

